Murkrat is a funeral doom band from New South Wales, Australia. Originally formed in 2006 by Mandy VKS Cattleprod (vocals, keyboards, guitars, bass, also in The Slow Death, Dust to Dearth, ex-Lycanthia) and Becky Nine-Iron (drums).

Becky left after the release of the first demo however, so Murkrat became a solo effort of Mandy.

The debut album, “Murkrat” was released in October 2008. It contained three new tracks and remastered tracks from the demo. Follow-up Drudging the Mire was released in 2011 with Neil Dyer on drums.